Andersons of Colonial N. Carolina

so I start this site in Virginia… go figure

Neanderthal

with 4 comments

So I read this article…

http://archaeologynewsnetwork.blogspot.com/2015/02/neanderthals-disappeared-from-iberian.html#.VNpzv9LF-YU

Then I see this illustration by an artist who I suppose is from Spain…

neanderthal

I mean really… were there American Indians in Spain? Or did Clint Eastwood make a lasting impression with his “spaghetti western” movies like The Good, The Bad and The Ugly?

Can you imagine shaving your head with a piece of flint rock?  Or does that explain the red head?  Sorry… I’m in a weird mood today.

Written by anderson1951

February 10, 2015 at 2:52 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m lovin’ your blog and can’t wait to write to you to thank you for posting all this stuff. It’s fascinating.

    (Incidentally, my dad was also an oil worker — in California. As were my uncles and a bunch of my cousins.)

    One of my NC lines that I’m looking for:
    Josiah Brown, ca1753-11 Oct 1798
    married about 1774
    Esther / Easter Pearson, 1755-1802?
    She’s in the 1800 census in Hillsborough.
    Josiah’s my dead-end for now.

    Esther’s parents:
    Samuel Pearson Capt. 1723-1802
    Mary Simmons/ Simons 1734-1822

    Children of Josiah & Esther:
    Pearson Brown 1775 NC — 1820 Smith Co, TN
    married 1799 Wake NC
    Anna Tedder

    Charlotte Brown ca 1780–?

    Pheraby Brown ca 1782–1818
    married 1802 Wake NC
    Samuel Eure, Jr.

    Rachel Brown ca 1784–?

    Elizabeth Betsy Brown ca 1786–1856 Lawrence Co., TN
    married 1802 Wake NC
    Kinchen Seagraves
    (I saw the surname Kinchen on one of your maps.)

    WINIFRED WINNIE BROWN ca 1786–1826? TN
    married 1802 Wake NC
    MERRIT DUKE

    Stephen Brown ca 1790 NC — ?
    Josiah left his farm to Stephen, with Pearson as admin.

    My ancestors, Merrit (Marat, Merit, Morrit, Merritt, etc.) and Winnie Duke, went to KY, AL and TN.

    My other NC lines I’m stuck on for now are Thomas ARMAN/ARMON who married Charity DOWLIN in Surry County in 1790. They moved to Rutherford County before going on to KY and MO. I don’t know where Thomas was between the end of the Rev and 1790. He was a Virginia soldier.

    I’m looking forward to reading more of you blog. Thanks again.
    Martha Arman Murphy

    Martha

    February 17, 2015 at 10:22 am

    • Try here…

      http://mars.archives.ncdcr.gov/basicsearch.aspx

      search “josiah brown”… there are quite a few of that name… sometimes there is a will present in these records but not this one… you may have to contact the Archives for records.

      Also

      familysearch.og

      dig around in NC records… good luck

      Marc

      anderson1951

      February 17, 2015 at 11:02 am

      • Thanks! I need to go to the local genealogy library. I think I’ve maxed out on the web.

        Martha

        July 20, 2015 at 5:48 pm

  2. Sorry, but by the time the info gets here in pale blue I can hardly read it.

    libsportal

    February 21, 2015 at 8:37 pm


Leave a Reply

