Andersons of Colonial N. Carolina

so I start this site in Virginia… go figure

Newby, Stanton, Smelly, Murphrey, Beal, … Isle of Wight 1801, a map

with 2 comments

I have no interest in these folks other than pure history… which means I cannot answer any questions in the comments… I may be able to answer questions about the map however. It literally took me several YEARS to figure out where Indian Creek was. This is good fun now… perhaps “the great swamp” is the Nansemond River? what do you think? Or was the Mill Pond nearer to the Old Brick Church near Chuckatuck? Don’t look for help with modern maps… waste of time.

The map however is a jewel for any folks who DO have an interest… I do have an Isle of Wight map where this area can be figured out with a little effort (see to the right under “Pages”).  Of particular interest is the reference to “Indian Swamp” and “the Brick Church Road”…. that’s good stuff folks.  Since this survey is 1801 it has little value with my map which is mid 1600s to early 1700s but it is without a doubt descendants of the early settlers… enjoy.

newby

Click on it… then click again to enlarge it. I also see Thomas Powell, Elizabeth “Hamton”, Jordons… as I say… good stuff.

source: http://www.lva.virginia.gov/chancery/full_case_detail.asp?CFN=093-1802-020#img

As an aside… I love that “Chancery Records” site at the Library of Virginia… even perhaps a century later than what you are researching it might turn up a clue. Also, since I kind of specialize in Isle of Wight, I have a “search box” to the right side of this page… type in your guy and see if something turns up… its all about the “clues”.

.

Written by anderson1951

August 20, 2014 at 5:14 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I can find no contact information on this site to its author. I have researched many families in the Isle of Wight/Surry/Edgecombe counties for 50+ years now who are mentioned on these pages but the maps
    appear to have the wrong locations of their properties.

    Tom King

    September 8, 2014 at 8:32 am

    • Hi Tom
      These maps are an “effort” on my part to locate the property of the early settlers… they are not intended to be a final work. With that said a few of the properties are spot on… others will be proven wrong if ever more fact/info shows up. Bear in mind that I am one guy constructing these maps… I welcome any info proving I am wrong and further allowing the correction of errors and disclosing the truth.

      Marc Anderson

      anderson1951

      September 10, 2014 at 7:10 am


Leave a Reply

